Who signed the Treaty of Nijmegen?

Who signed the Treaty of Nijmegen?

Who signed the Treaty of Nijmegen?

Contrariwise, the Nijmegen conference secured peace between the leading contenders in the war—France, the emperor and Empire, the Dutch Republic, and Spain. The peace treaties signed at Nijmegen were quickly followed by a peace settlement between Sweden and its two major enemies, Brandenburg and Denmark.

What territory did France get from the Treaty of Nijmegen?

The Franco–Dutch War ended with a treaty which gave France control over the region of the Franche-Comté.

What did the Treaty of Nijmegen do?

Treaties of Nijmegen, Nijmegen also spelled Nimwegen, peace treaties of 1678–79 that ended the Dutch War, in which France had opposed Spain and the Dutch Republic (now the Netherlands).

What treaty ended the Dutch War?

The Treaty of Westminster of 1674 was the peace treaty that ended the Third Anglo-Dutch War.

How many people died in the war of devolution?

War of Devolution
Spanish Netherlands: 50,000 Franche-Comté: 15,000 Spanish Netherlands: 20,000–27,000 Franche-Comté: 2,000
Casualties and losses
Spanish Netherlands: 2,000–4,000 Franche-Comté: 400–500 Spanish Netherlands: 2,000–3,000 Franche-Comté: minimal

Why did France invade the Netherlands?

Dutch War, also called Franco-dutch War, (1672–78), the second war of conquest by Louis XIV of France, whose chief aim in the conflict was to establish French possession of the Spanish Netherlands after having forced the Dutch Republic’s acquiescence.

When did France occupy the Netherlands?

The period of French dominance (1795–1813)

Who won Dutch war?

The commercial rivalry of the two nations again led to war in 1665 (the Second Anglo-Dutch War of 1665–67), after hostilities had begun the previous year and the English had already captured New Amsterdam (New York). England declared war in March 1665 and won a decisive victory over the Dutch off Lowestoft in June.

Who won first Anglo-Dutch War?


First Anglo-Dutch War
The Battle of Scheveningen, 10 August 1653, Jan Abrahamsz Beerstraaten
Date 1652–1654 Location English Channel, North Sea Result English victory Treaty of Westminster
Dutch Republic Commonwealth of England

Who won War of devolution?

The War of Devolution (1667–68) saw Louis XIV’s French armies overrun the Habsburg-controlled Spanish Netherlands and the Franche-Comté, but forced to give most of it back by a Triple Alliance of England, Sweden, and the Dutch Republic in the Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle.

Why did the war of devolution start?

Devolution was a local custom governing the inheritance of land in certain provinces of the Spanish Netherlands, by which daughters of a first marriage were preferred to sons of subsequent marriages; and Louis XIV of France began the war on the pretext that this custom should apply to sovereign territories also, so …

Is Holland Dutch or French?

Kingdom of Holland

Kingdom of Holland Koningrijk Holland (Dutch) Royaume de Hollande (French)
Capital The Hague Utrecht (1808) Amsterdam (1808)
Common languages Dutch, French
Government Constitutional monarchy
King of Holland