Where is Pema Chodron today?

Where is Pema Chodron today?

Where is Pema Chodron today?

Chödrön has written several dozen books and audiobooks, and is principal teacher at Gampo Abbey in Nova Scotia.

What is the near enemy of equanimity practice?

A near enemy of equanimity is indifference or callousness. Mindfulness means being with what is non-judgmentally, not hardening ourselves against what is unwanted.

What is the Buddhist word for loving kindness?

Maitrī (Sanskrit; Pali: mettā) means benevolence, loving-kindness, friendliness, amity, good will, and active interest in others. It is the first of the four sublime states (Brahmaviharas) and one of the ten pāramīs of the Theravāda school of Buddhism.

Is Pema Chödrön still part of Shambala?

She announced her retirement as a teacher in the Halifax, Nova Scotia-based global community in a Tuesday letter to the Shambhala board.

How do you guide tonglen meditation?

Here is a quick and easy guide for beginners who want to start practicing.

  1. Sit or lie quietly. Get comfortable.
  2. Close your eyes. Imagine someone that you want to help.
  3. Breathe in. As you do focus on the heaviness of their negative energy and of the things that ail them.
  4. Breathe out.
  5. Repeat.

What are the four Immeasurables in Buddhism?

Buddhism emphasizes the cultivation of four “sublime” or “noble” attitudes toward all beings: loving-kindness (friendliness), compassion (willing to cease suffering), appreciative joy (feeling happy for others), and equanimity (calm based on wisdom). These are known as the “four immeasurables” (Sujiva, 2007).

What is the difference between equanimity and indifference?

Letting objective conditions come and go without trying to improve them is indifference. Indifference and equanimity may sound similar, but they’re actually opposites. Having equanimity with the way a situation makes you feel frees up energy to respond to that situation in an empowered, effective way.”

What are the four core types of mindfulness in Buddhism?

In the early Buddhist texts, mindfulness is explained as being established in four main ways:

  • mindfulness of the body (Pāli: kāyagatā-sati; Skt. kāya-smṛti),
  • mindfulness of feelings (Pāli vedanā-sati; Skt.
  • mindfulness of the mind (Pāli citta-sati; Skt.
  • mindfulness of principles or phenomena (Pāli dhammā-sati; Skt.