Where do I report animal cruelty in Ohio?
Call the cruelty hotline at (330) 405-0620. Our Humane Officers are on the road throughout the day so, please leave a message and wait for a return phone call. An officer will be paged once you have left a message.
What is the punishment for animal cruelty in Ohio?
A first-offense for intentionally assaulting an animal is a first-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by a jail sentence of up to 180 days and/or a maximum $1,000 fine. A second or subsequent offense is a fifth-degree felony, which carries a maximum 12-month prison sentence and/or a fine no more than $2,500.
What is considered animal cruelty in Ohio?
(B) No person shall knowingly torture, torment, needlessly mutilate or maim, cruelly beat, poison, needlessly kill, or commit an act of cruelty against a companion animal. (C) No person shall knowingly cause serious physical harm to a companion animal.
Does Ohio have animal cruelty laws?
Ohio has general and specific criminal animal cruelty statutes. The general statutes are Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 959.13, Cruelty to Animals, and § 959.131, Cruelty against Companion Animals.
What would be considered animal abuse?
Animal abuse, or animal cruelty is the crime of inflicting physical pain, suffering or death on an animal, usually a tame one, beyond necessity for normal discipline. It can include neglect that is so monstrous (withholding food and water) that the animal has suffered, died or been put in imminent danger of death.
Is dog abuse a felony in Ohio?
The new law makes it a felony to harm a companion animal or pet, and local humane agents say it’s a positive step when it comes to the battle against animal cruelty.
What is the maximum penalty for cruelty to animals?
The maximum sentence for animal cruelty under the Animal Welfare Act 2006 is only six months in prison in England and Wales.