What happens to pawn when it reaches the other side?

What happens to pawn when it reaches the other side?

What happens to pawn when it reaches the other side?

But what happens when a pawn reaches the other side? If the Pawn reaches the opposite side of the chessboard, it has the unique ability to promote to another piece. The pawn can become a Queen, Bishop, Rook, or Knight. There are no restrictions to how many pieces of a given type you can have via promotion.

Can a pawn be promoted to a second queen?

Players can also promote a pawn to a more powerful piece in play on the board, so it’s possible to have a second queen or more (up to nine queens). Once pawn promotion takes place, the opposing player must move unless they are in checkmate.

Is pawn promotion a real rule?

Modern rules now dictate that a promoted pawn becomes the new piece at the end of its move, so it cannot move with its new status before the opponent’s reply. But some rules in the first part of the 1800s played that a suspended pawn, upon being promoted, could not move until each player had moved once more.

What happens when you get a pawn across the board?

When a pawn reaches the other end of the board it can be changed for any other piece of its own colour, except the King. This is called promotion. Therefore, a pawn can be promoted to a Queen, a Rook, a Bishop or a Knight.

Why would you not promote a pawn to a queen?

Why would one promote his Pawn to Rook or Bishop other than Queen? Promoting to Rook/Bishop instead of Queen may provide smaller advantage than promoting to Queen, and it may even provide a disadvantage to the mover.

Where does a promoted pawn go?

When promoting, the pawn is removed from the board, and the promoted piece is placed on the square of promotion. A player may promote to a piece regardless of whether it has been captured. In theory, a player could have nine queens, ten knights, ten bishops, or ten rooks, though these are highly improbable scenarios.

How many times can a pawn be promoted?

So, this isn’t an optional thing – if your pawn hits the last rank, it’s got to become another piece. Thus, there is no maximum number of pawns that can be promoted, and, in theory, you could promote all 16 pawns on a chessboard during the course of a game.

Can I promote pawn to enemy piece?

No , a pawn that reaches the last row must be promoted immediately to a queen, rook, bishop or knight.