What are the 2 major components of the skeletal system?

What are the 2 major components of the skeletal system?

What are the 2 major components of the skeletal system?

The skeleton is subdivided into two major divisions—the axial and appendicular.

What are the 2 divisions of the skeletal system quizlet?

The two main division of the skeletal system is Axial skeleton and Appendicular skeleton.

What are the main parts of the skeleton?

These are (1) the axial, comprising the vertebral column—the spine—and much of the skull, and (2) the appendicular, to which the pelvic (hip) and pectoral (shoulder) girdles and the bones and cartilages of the limbs belong.

What is the main component of the skeletal system?

The skeletal system includes four basic components, although some sources include a fifth, the joints. The four are the bones, which make up most of the mass of the skeletal system; cartilage, which acts mainly as padding; ligaments, which usually connect bones to bones; and tendons, which join muscles to bones.

What is appendicular skeletal system?

The appendicular skeleton is one of two major bone groups in the body, the other being the axial skeleton. The appendicular skeleton is comprised of the upper and lower extremities, which include the shoulder girdle and pelvis.

What are the major bones of the skeleton?

The skeleton

  • Skull – including the jaw bone.
  • Spine – cervical, thoracic and lumbar vertebrae, sacrum and tailbone (coccyx)
  • Chest – ribs and breastbone (sternum)
  • Arms – shoulder blade (scapula), collar bone (clavicle), humerus, radius and ulna.
  • Hands – wrist bones (carpals), metacarpals and phalanges.
  • Pelvis – hip bones.

What is the skeletal system made up of?

The adult human skeleton is made up of 206 bones. These include the bones of the skull, spine (vertebrae), ribs, arms and legs. Bones are made of connective tissue reinforced with calcium and specialised bone cells. Most bones also contain bone marrow, where blood cells are made.

What are types of skeleton?

The three types of skeleton designs are hydrostatic skeletons, exoskeletons, and endoskeletons.

What are the forms and component of skeleton?

An internal or external, protective framework of bone, cartilage, or other rigid material, supporting and containing the organs of the human body is termed as skeleton. Skeleton has three components: bones, joints and cartilage.

What is in axial skeleton?

The axial skeleton consists of the braincase (cranium) and the backbone and ribs, and it serves primarily to protect the central nervous system. The limbs and their girdles constitute the appendicular skeleton. In addition, there are skeletal elements derived from the gill arches of primitive vertebrates,…