What are the 10 High Holy Days?

What are the 10 High Holy Days?

What are the 10 High Holy Days?

About the Jewish Holidays

  • Rosh Hashanah. The Jewish New Year, the beginning of ten days of penitence or teshuvah culminating on Yom Kippur.
  • Yom Kippur. The Day of Atonement; a very solemn day devoted to fasting, prayer, and repentance.
  • Sukkot.
  • Shemini Atzeret.
  • Simchat Torah.

What do you do during the 10 Days of Awe?

The 10 days are all about repentance. It’s a time when you ask forgiveness of your friends you’ve wronged. Of course you can go to the temple and say, “God forgive me,” but if I hurt you in some way, why should God be the one to forgive? You must ask the people you’ve hurt for their forgiveness.

What do you do on the 10 days of repentance?

making the culmination of the ten days a very serious set of observances. Yom Kippur is over at sundown on the tenth day at nightfall but is ‘confirmed’ as concluded after the recitation of the Kaddish following the end of ne’ila (“closing”) prayer and the shofar is sounded.

What are the seven High Holy Days?

Leviticus 23 lists these seven feasts in order of their seasonal observance: Passover, Unleavened Bread, First Fruits, Pentecost, Trumpets, Day of Atonement, and Booths or Tabernacles.

What is the highest holy day for Jews?

Yom Kippur
Yom Kippur, the Day of Atonement, is the holiest day of the Jewish year. It concludes the 10 Days of Awe. The day is devoted to repentance for sins that were committed during the previous year.

Why is it called Days of Awe?

We call these ten days the “Days of Awe” because of the awesome burden we feel, both individually and collectively, to atone for our misdeeds, to make peace with our brothers and sisters, and then to face God’s judgment.

What is the purpose of the Days of Awe?

The “ten days of repentance” or “the days of awe” include Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur and the days in between, during which time Jews should meditate on the subject of the holidays and ask for forgiveness from anyone they have wronged.

What does teshuvah mean?

Teshuvah is the central theme of the time between Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur, known collectively as the “Ten Days of Teshuvah.” Typically, teshuvah is translated from the Hebrew as repentance, but it literally means return, as if turning back to something you’ve strayed or looked away from.

What is the meaning of a shofar?

Definition of shofar : the horn of a ruminant animal and usually a ram blown as a trumpet by the ancient Hebrews in battle and during religious observances and used in modern Judaism especially during Rosh Hashanah and at the end of Yom Kippur.